The Ximenez-Fatio House will close March 16 due to caution and concern for the safety of employees, members, volunteers, and our community. The coronavirus situation will be monitored on a weekly basis and the historic home will reopen to the public as soon as possible. In addition, please come and visit us in our new gift shop when we open our doors back to our guests. We are planning a grand re-opening party. Keep visiting our website for updates.

Please visit our story at the following address:


Museum Address – 20 Aviles Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084


Open Monday through Saturday
‍10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Professionally Guided Tours


  • Adults – $10
  • Students/Seniors/Active Military/First Responders/Educators – $8
  • Families – $25 / St. John’s County Residents – Free (donations appreciated)
  • Private Group Rates Available – Call (904) 342-8887 for Details/Scheduling
* Rates are subject to change
* Days and/or times subject to change due to special events. Please call ahead to confirm.


National Register of Historic Places
Florida Heritage Landmark

Owned by The National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in The State of Florida since 1939
2019 Certificate of Excellence - TripAdvisor

Welcome To Ximenez-Fatio House

Rated a top tourist attraction in St. Augustine, FL
by TripAdvisor

Within the coquina walls of the Ximenez-Fatio House Museum is a vivid recreation of how people lived in the years after Florida became a new territory of the United States, and then a state. Our guides are experts on that colorful period in St. Augustine’s past. Travel back in time with them as you tour our rooms and learn about the intrepid, sophisticated women who owned the property and operated it as an exclusive inn, as well as the visitors who wintered with them from the 1830s through the 1850s.

This unique house museum is a dynamic learning project. As historical research, archaeological exploration and advanced structural analysis continue, it continues to provide new information about St. Augustine’s first tourism boom.

Explore South of the Plaza

The area immediately south of St. Augustine’s central plaza is the oldest historic district in North America. The Spanish chose this high ground for a settlement in 1572, and it has been continuously occupied ever since. Today, South of the Plaza is picturesque, vibrant, dotted with highly rated bed & breakfasts and eateries, and a welcome surprise for those who venture beyond the more congested parts of town.

Aviles Street

The oldest platted street in North America, home to some of the city’s most unique shops and a number of quaint, European-style restaurants, most with outdoor seating.

Ximenez-Fatio House Museum

Start your South of the Plaza adventure with a tour of this perennial TripAdvisor favorite. Authentically restored and interpreted, the 1798 coquina house was St. Augustine’s finest guest lodging during its first tourism boom in the mid 1800s.

Lightner Museum

Built in the Spanish Renaissance style by Henry Flagler in 1887 as the Alcazar Hotel, it contains three floors of relics from America’s Gilded Age.

The Spanish Military Hospital Museum

The institution that gave Aviles its original name of Hospital Street.

González-Alvarez House

Now part of a museum complex run by the St. Augustine Historical Society and the University of Florida, Florida’s oldest house dates to the early 1700s.

Our Lady of Lourdes Convent & O’Reilly House Museum

The historic motherhouse of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Florida and a 1691 building that houses records and artifacts that date from 1866, the year nuns from this order traveled from France to teach children of freed slaves in St. Augustine.

St. Augustine Historical Society Research Library

A repository of knowledge about the Oldest City.

St. Francis Barracks

Built between 1724 and 1755; now the Florida State Arsenal and headquarters of the Florida National Guard.

The southern sea wall extension

A great place to stroll by day or enjoy a sunset at day’s end.


The Visitor Center faces Aviles Street at the back of the courtyard. Start here with a video preview that recreates the experience of St. Augustine tourists in the 1800s and sets the scene for your guided tour of the House.

Also on view is a display of artifacts found on the grounds, including the 17th century rare and exquisite Caravaca Cross excavated in 2002. Sterling silver and gold replicas of the Caravaca Cross, as well as books, postcards, unique gifts, and souvenirs are available in the adjacent gift shop.



Ximenez-Fatio House Presents


Guest Dining Room

Dining Room

Guest Parlor

Living Quarters

1798 Coquina Kitchen